Cauliflower-Kale Soup with Dill & Baby Taro

I was planning on posting several new projects during my week off but Hurricane Sandy ruined everything. There was no public transport for several days and once it resumed, it was only the buses and very limited service. NYC was cray-cray at the end of October. After Sandy hit NYC, two days later I went to Whole Foods and it was still pretty empty. I felt like I was part of a disaster film, before the end of the world… People were still in a frenzy, grabbing whatever they could get. It was unreal… One thing I did find amusing was that Hurricane Sandy made New Yorkers eat bread. Bread is perishable, why weren’t people fighting to buy the last box of cereal??

Luckily for me, I live in upper Manhattan so I had power for the entire time. Unfortunately, Degustation is in the East Village and power was finally restored on Friday November 2. But we bounced back and started serving everything on the menu two days later; that can’t be said for other restaurants!

In the restaurant, kale is featured in the seasonal salad. I have never liked eating kale so I was experimenting and it turned out great! However, I do like snacking on the mounds of kale chips that I make almost everyday. I would have loved to put a kale chip on this dish but I hate my oven…

[100% organic]

For the Soup

  • 1 large onion, thinly sliced
  • 5 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 1 head cauliflower, chopped
  • ½ cup dill, finely chopped
  • 5 large curly kale leaves, stems removed
  • 6 cups vegetable/chicken stock
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive oil

In a large pot, sweat the onions with olive oil and a pinch of salt. Once the onions are soft and translucent, add in the garlic and ¼ cup of dill and continue sweating for 2 minutes. Add in the chopped cauliflower, stems included. Add in the vegetable/chicken stock and enough water to cover. Bring mixture to a simmer and cook for 20 minutes, until cauliflower is tender.

Remove the tough stems to the kale and roughly chop into strips. Add in the kale once cauliflower is tender and cook until kale is wilted and soft, 3-5 minutes. Add in the remaining ¼ cup of dill and simmer for 5 minutes. Using an immersion blender, blend until soup is smooth and no longer chunky. Season and taste for seasoning, then keep warm.

For the Taro

  • 4 baby taro, peeled

Boil a pot of salted water. Add in the taro once water is boiling and cook on medium-high heat for 10 minutes.

Remove from water and cut into obliques. Keep warm for soup garnish.

For the Finish

  • Dill sprigs
  • EVOO
  • (Kale chips)

Ladle soup into bowls, garnish with chopped taro and a dill sprig. If you have kale chips, use them! Drizzle EVOO and serve!

Leave a Reply

