Mango Sago Soup with Pomelo

杨枝甘露

Ahhhhhh, I can’t wait to start level 6 pastries with Chef Anna again! I want to make more Asian-influenced desserts. Whenever I go back to Hong Kong, I have to make my way to Honeymoon Dessert in Shatin within 36 hours from touchdown… And I have to go multiple times! I need to get all the cravings for 杨枝甘露 (mango pomelo & sago sweet soup) out of my system before I attack my other favorites on their menu. This is by far one of my favorite desserts, ever. I’m not sure if I like this better or tiramisu! Gasp! I really don’t know!

Who knows, I might make something entirely different once I get to level 6 with Chef Anna. Or maybe she’ll like this recipe.

If you can’t find pomelo, you can use grapefruit. This recipe makes about 1 liter (2 pints) of the sago-mango-coconut mixture.

[Organic coconut milk, sugar]

  • 3 cups mango juice
  • One 13.5 oz. can coconut milk
  • 2 large ripe mangoes, cubed
  • Simple syrup (equal amounts of water and sugar, melted)
  • 1 cup sago pearls
  • Pomelo, suprêmed and broken apart

Boil a pot of water, add sago and bring to a boil again. Turn off heat, cover with lid, and let it steep for 10 minutes. Taste and check consistency. Sago should be translucent and it should not be soggy and mushy. If it needs more cooking, repeat but steep for 5 minutes. Run the cooked sago through a fine sieve and flush cold tap water, then set aside.

Make simple syrup by melting ½ cup sugar with the ½ cup water, then set aside.

Reserve one half of the cubed mangoes for garnishing. In a blender, blend the rest of the mangoes, coconut milk, and mango juice until well combined. Adjust sweetness with simple syrup. Add cooked sago to the mixture, whisk well, and chill in the fridge.

TO ASSEMBLE

Portion out mango sago mixture into serving spoons/bowls/ramekins and garnish with pomelo and cubed mangoes.

*Adapted from Honeymoon Dessert.

Leave a Reply

