Change in Food Perception

Before coming to culinary school, I considered myself to be an “experienced” foodie, to the point of becoming snobbish, among my circle of friends. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, right? I just have higher expectations to how my food should come out of the kitchen and served in front of me. Aren’t all foodies a little snobbish? I know how most dishes were supposed to taste, to look, to smell, to feel, and to sound by appealing to our five senses. You’re probably thinking about the “sound” sense – have you had Chinese sizzling platters (铁板烧) or Teppanyaki? They are supposed to be sizzling when served to you; that same sound every time Hell’s Kitchen goes to commercial break.

I’ve been in school for a month and I noticed that my food perceptions have changed whenever I dine in. I really nitpick at everything on my plate – from the presentation to all the elements on the plate or bowl. Does everything on the plate have a purpose? Do all the ingredients complement each other? My instructor, Chef Phil, says to really test a restaurant’s chefs are to order a salad dish and a fish entrée.

For salads, we learned that there are three types – simple, mixed, and composed. A Caesar Salad is a simple salad – one main ingredient that is dressed simply in a dressing. A mixed salad has several ingredients and they are seasoned together, e.g. Macédoine de Légumes (Cooked Vegetable Salad). A composed salad has a mixture of several ingredients seasoned separately and then presented together on one plate. The classical French Salade Niçoise is such an example of a composed salad. When preparing the salad, the salad greens should be healthy, dry, and not be bruised. For the dressing, too many elements can cause it to become overpowering and it may cancel out flavors in the salad. It is important to select ingredients in the salad greens and in the dressing to complement each other. The flavor of the main salad ingredient should be enhanced by the salad dressing, not masked by the dressing.

I had lunch at a well-known hotel in Midtown last week and I had a Manhattan clam chowder soup, a beet and goat cheese salad, and a ham and swiss sandwich on ciabatta bread. I ordered the beet and goat cheese salad because we had already made it in class so I knew how it was supposed to taste/look/smell/feel. If I had made the salad, I wouldn’t have drowned it in dressing. In school, we learned to take a spoonful and slide it around the edge of a stainless mixing bowl and then toss it with the salad greens. The beets were not tender in the center so that told me that it should have been cooked in the oven a little longer. Also, I would have liked the vinaigrette to be a little less acidic. The sharp tang wasn’t too pleasing. However, I did enjoy the clam chowder and sandwich.

One thought on “Change in Food Perception

Leave a Reply

