Traditional Hummus

I’ve been dying to make hummus ever since I had it at Mars – a restaurant that is no longer in existence in Austin, Texas – back in 2008. But I just never got the drive to do it until I had an interesting variety of hummus at a charity event in Austin, where they served beetroot hummus. The color was surreal. I loved the vibrant dark pinkish purple of the beets. It wasn’t until I moved to Hong Kong, a year and a half ago, when I deeply wanted to make hummus but my parents didn’t have a Western blender nor food processor… so, this is the third day that I have been back to the U.S. and TA DA!

[100% organic]

  • One 15 oz. canned chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 TBS tahini
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 2 TBS garlic oil
  • 2 TBS lemon juice
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Rosemary twig, to garnish

Put all the ingredients in a food processor or blender and process until it forms a thick, smooth paste. Season it to your taste and serve as a dip/spread with flat bread, pita bread, or crackers.

Leave a Reply

