Thai Green Curry Prawns

Funny story actually, when I was searching for the green curry paste at the wet market, the shopkeeper who I bought it from thought I was Singaporean or Malaysian. He said that my perfect and precise pronunciation was the reason. I told him, shouldn’t that make him think that I’m from Beijing? Why Singapore or Malaysia? He then said it’s because I speak English too -.- … he was nice, but ignorant.

I don’t know if this is the paste that I bought or if green curry is supposed to taste really grainy… but what the hell, it was delicious!

[100% organic & wild shrimp]

  • 4 TBS green curry paste
  • 1 green bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 lb shrimp, antennae and legs cut, back cut half-way
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 2 TBS oil
  • 2 bird’s eye chili peppers, finely sliced
  • 20 fresh Thai basil leaves
  • 1 lime, zested and juiced
  • Salt to taste

Heat oil in pan and add green curry paste. Fry for 1 minute.

Lower the heat and add the coconut milk and bell peppers, allow it to simmer for 5 minutes.

Add the prawns and simmer for 3 minutes until the prawns are thoroughly cooked. Add in the basil leaves, lime zest and juice, chili peppers, and then mix well and serve with steamed rice.

*Adapted from Expat Recipe.

Leave a Reply

