Hash Brown Pizza

It was impossible to make this pretty because, for me, pizzas are always a challenge at making them aesthetically pleasing to the eye. They say to put less things on the pizza but I can never stop myself from overloading the pizza. I don’t make pizzas that fall apart but there are always a lot of things going on with my pizzas.

Kitchens in Hong Kong don’t come equipped with ovens, nor dishwashers, and my parents didn’t buy the former so I had to come up with some other way to make pizzas. I actually got inspired by that awful tasting Japanese rice-pizza restaurant in Shatin. So instead of rice, I used shredded/grated potatoes, which translates to hash brown pizzas!!! YUM! I love hash browns!!!! I mean, who doesn’t? When I used to eat breakfast, I used to gobble down hash browns…

[100% organic]

  • Olive oil
  • Butter
  • Bag of potatoes
  • Tomato sauce (I used arrabiata)
  • Mozzarella cheese, freshly grated
  • Parmesan, freshly grated
  • Prosciutto, thinly sliced
  • Salami, thinly sliced
  • Mushroom, thinly sliced
  • Bell peppers, thinly sliced
  • Arugula, fresh
  • Basil leaves
  • Salt & pepper

Peel potatoes and then grate them into a bowl. Squeeze excess water out of grated potatoes and then immediately heat a pan with 2 TBS olive oil and 1 TBS butter.

Flatten grated potatoes into pan and form into a circle, turn heat to low and allow potatoes to fry. Spoon 1-2 TBS of tomato sauce onto the top and sprinkle some grated cheese. Also season with salt & pepper. Cook for 2 minutes.

Once the base of the hash-brown is cooked/burnt enough, it’s time to add the toppings. Be careful not to add too much or else the hash brown will not hold.

Serve immediately once out of pan. I put more basil leaves and sprinkled more cheese onto the pizza because that’s how I like it!

Leave a Reply

