Seafood & Pork Dumvioli

I was going to make ravioli or tortellini but the recipes that I’ve looked at all include a necessary piece of equipment: a food processor. Oh my god, you have no idea how many times I’ve dropped my head down in defeat after looking at a recipe and then finding out that I don’t have a food processor.

I miss my own kitchen. I also miss Austin, where the “western ingredients” in my recipes were so convenient to find. Even though there are places like C!tySuper, supermarkets that offer western ingredients do not compare to that of Whole Foods Market. I really was spoiled in Austin, wasn’t I, having the landmark store 3-minutes driving distance away from me.

Grocery shopping in Hong Kong mainly requires public transportation and that can tire you down. Even for me, I get hyper when I go grocery shopping but not so much over here since it’s such a pain!

I also don’t feel very creative stuck in Hong Kong. I need to be on my own again, in my own apartment, and in my own kitchen. That’s when I’ll feel right at home. But for now, I guess this will do.

When I was little, I hated cilantro but now, it seems that I’ll put it wherever possible! Hehehe…

[100% organic & sustainable farmed shrimp]

  • 1 lb ground pork
  • ½ lb shrimp
  • 1 leek
  • ¼ lb cilantro
  • 2 dried scallops, soaked overnight
  • 2 eggs
  • Salt
  • Soy sauce
  • 2 TBS corn starch

Finely dice the shrimp, finely chop the cilantro, finely slice the leeks, and hand shred the scallops. Add the corn starch to the ground meat. Mix everything, along with the eggs, together thoroughly. Splash soy sauce and a dash of salt to the mixture. If mixture is too dry, add 1 TBS water each time and mix.

Make the dumplings/ravioli.

Boil a pot of water, when water boils, leave it on high heat, put in however many dumplings that will fit for it not to be crowded. When the dumplings boil, boil for another 10-15 minutes, depending on how many dumplings there are.

 

Leave a Reply

