Singapore Chili Prawns

As much as I love eating crab, I’m a bit too lazy to get the meat out of the shells. So that’s why I substituted crab for shrimp/prawns today. I shouldn’t have added salt because I it slipped my mind that I used salted duck egg so it was a bit salty. I will not include salt in the ingredients.

[100% organic & wild]

  • 15-20 prawns, deveined and scored on back
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp ginger, minced
  • ½ onion, finely chopped
  • 4 red bird’s eye chili peppers, finely chopped
  • ¼ cup tomato sauce
  • 2 TBS sugar
  • ½ cup water
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 2 TBS corn starch
  • 1 salted duck egg, beaten
  • ¼ cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1 TBS olive oil

Mix the tomato sauce, water, lime juice and corn starch.

In a wok, with 1 TBS olive oil, fry the garlic, ginger, chili peppers, and onions until aromatic. Add prawns and keep on flipping. Add the sauce mixture and bring to a boil, keep on turning the prawns to avoid burnt parts. When the prawns are almost done, stir in the duck egg and continue stirring until egg is well mixed.

Serve immediately with steamed rice.

Leave a Reply

