Update: Seared Scallops over Homemade Noodles

菜心扇貝家麵

My earliest posts have really ugly photos of the food that I made. I’m in the slow process of updating the ugly photos. The first time I made this, I used store bought dried noodles but this time I decided to make my own noodles! Instead of a simple chicken broth, I used dashi instead; instant dashi, though.

These homemade noodles tasted like soft Chinese equivalent of fettuccine noodles!

[100% organic & wild scallops]

  • 1 cup homemade noodles, instructions
  • A few drops of sesame oil
  • 1 TBS instant dashi
  • 1 cup water
  • A handful of cai xin / Chinese broccoli
  • Scallops
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

Cook the noodles in a boiling pot of water for 3-5 minutes, drain noodles and keep warm.

With the same noodle water, drop the vegetables in boiling water for no more than 10 seconds, drain and place over noodles.

In a separate pot, boil 1 cup of water for the broth and add the dashi once water boils. Turn off heat and keep warm.

Season the scallops and sear them. Spoon dashi broth over noodles and vegetables and then place scallops on top. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

