Frogs with Peppers

I love eating frogs! I usually don’t prefer the body but when I made them tonight, the body tasted really good too. I don’t know the name of the fresh peppers I used though. I went online to search and there are thousands of different types so I’ll just describe them: they are usually all green, some with red tints, not big, long and thin, the size resembles an organic carrot, half of your fist, some are really spicy and others are not. Anyway, it was really good and as I am writing this at 11pm, I am getting hungry for frogs again.

[Everything but frogs are organic]

  • 3 TBS olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 4 red bird’s eye chili peppers, finely chopped
  • 4 scallions, chopped in 2-inch pieces
  • 7-8 fresh green peppers, roughly chopped into bite size pieces
  • 8-10 frogs, cleaned well
  • ¾ cup shaoxing wine
  • 1 cup water
  • 4 TBS soy sauce
  • 2 TBS corn starch in 2 TBS water
  • Salt

In a wok on high heat, heat the olive oil. When the oil is hot, quickly stir-fry the garlic and chili peppers for 10 seconds, then add in the frogs, scallions, shaoxing wine, soy sauce, and salt. Cover and cook for a minute and then turn and flip around the frogs, then add the water and cook covered for 5-6 minutes.

When it’s almost done, add in the corn starch and simmer on medium heat for a minute.

One thought on “Frogs with Peppers

  1. This reminds me of my childhood when my mother cooked frogs in aromatic tauco paste (fermented beans) and ginger. Beautiful!

    With too much pesticides used everywhere in farms like rice paddy fields, I’m afraid there aren’t many frogs left.

Leave a Reply

