B-Day Food So Far

My b-day is on Thursday…

Yesterday night (July 5) my parents took me out to the Hyatt Regency Hotel for my b-day dinner. It was the only night that fit with all of our schedules. My parents and brother got there 10 minutes before I did (remember, I was racing back from work). In my years and time in HK, I have celebrated my b-day dinners at the YMCA Seafood Buffet, Sai Kung, and the Hyatt Regency Hotel Buffet. The buffet at the YMCA is in Tsim Sha Tsui. The food there is still great but it’s far away. In my family, we have outgrown the awesome food at Sai Kung… meaning, we make the same dishes at home and they are now (circa 2007) WAY better than the ones at the restaurants in Sai Kung. Now, the location of the Hyatt Hotel is just perfect. It’s close by, we get a 10% discount, and it has all kinds of food, it’s not just a seafood place like the YMCA.

I had several plates of sashimi grade salmon, tuna, surf clam, and scallops. I had a whole rack of lamb chops, medium rare, and 2 chicken skewers. My father insisted that I eat a piece of beef from his beef skewer. BUT I DON’T EAT BEEF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! At the end, I took a bite and it was tasty but I already regretted it because I knew that I would be farting deathly farts today… I had plates of mussels, conch, and crab. I got bowls of shrimp, shrimp salad, and sea urchin. I got a pound of BBQ pork and BBQ duck. I ate a lot of salad, not iceberg lettuce. I had 5 scoops of mango and raspberry sherbet. I had a bowl of tiramisu and one pound of dragon eyes. I had 2 slices of dragon fruit, 2 slices of watermelon, 2 slices of cantaloupe, and 2 slices of rock melon. I drank lots of water and I got an iced lemon tea too!

Tonight for dinner, we went to Chaochiu Garden for dinner. We started off with crab cakes (super gooooooood), shrimp cakes, jellyfish, and goose breast + tofu. Then came the shrimp and fish maw soup (yummmmmy). Then a vegetable dish – baby corn, lotus root, mushrooms, wood ear, and snow peas. Next came really delicious chicken and bell peppers. The last dish was a steamed grouper with spicy soy sauce & cilantro!!

I probably gained a whole bunch but you can’t really tell and I refuse to weigh myself.

3 thoughts on “B-Day Food So Far

  1. OMG… I’m drooling!!! It was good that you had good times for your Birthday. Happy belated B-day to you. Wishing you happiness and long life:)

    I think you have some kind of beef (cow) phobia, he, he…..If you tried it and liked it, there is no reason not to eat it again.

  2. Lois

    I think I misunderstood you birthday…. Is it July 15? If it’s correct, I wish you a fun and happy time on the big day:)

Leave a Reply

