Coq au Vin Blanc

If I see the word “bacon”, I just HAVE TO look at the recipe. I don’t always cook whatever has bacon in it, it just catches my attention. I mean, who doesn’t love bacon? Sadly, I’m not young anymore so I have to watch out what I eat.

And what is a rutabaga? I’ve never heard about it until I saw it in this recipe and I didn’t even know if my local supermarkets had it or not… but they did :] I also never had parsnips before.

[100% organic]

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 medium onion, roughly chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 5 strips bacon, cut into thin strips
  • Half bottle of white wine
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 large rutabaga, cut into cubes
  • 1 parsnip, cut into cubes
  • 1 large sweet potato, cut into cubes
  • 1 TBS thyme, chopped
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp olive oil

In a large nonstick pan, heat 1 tsp of olive oil. Pat the chicken dry and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place the chicken down in the pan and don’t touch for a few minutes until well browned, about 5 minutes. Carefully remove the chicken from the pan and set aside.

Cook the bacon in the remaining oil until crispy, and set aside. Add the onions and sauté until translucent. Add in garlic and stir until lightly brown. Pour in the wine and scrape up all the yummy bits stuck to the bottom. Bring to a boil and reduce the wine by half. Add in two cups broth, and bring to a boil. Add in the veggies, bacon, thyme, 1 tsp salt and place the chicken on top of everything. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Cover and cook for about 20 minutes, until the chicken is cooked and the vegetables are tender.

*Adapted from Chef a la Porte.

Leave a Reply

