Baby Back Ribs in Winter Melon Soup

排骨冬瓜汤

I’m loving that Whole Foods is selling winter melon. The winter melon at the Chinese supermarkets are often not very fresh so even though I would love to buy them, I do not. That’s not the case at Whole Foods though! Today I bought half a melon so yay! for a lot of soup in the next few days! Then to make everything better, the baby back ribs were on sale, $5.99!!!! They are usually $9.99. I bought two racks. I really wanted to make winter melon soup but I needed a meat serving so I just made pork bone soup with the ribs.

I don’t like taking photos at night… my P&S camera doesn’t do the food justice.

[100% organic]

  • ¼ cup dried shrimp
  • 1 rack of baby back ribs (ask your butcher to cut down the middle of the rack so that you have two thin racks)
  • 2 lbs winter melon, peel and seeds removed, chopped into chunks
  • Salt
  • Sesame oil

Boil 8 cups of water in a pot on high heat, and put in the dried shrimp. Once boiled, add in the winter melon and wait for the water to boil again before turning the heat to medium-low and cook for 20 minutes.

In a separate pot of boiling water, add in the square-rectangular pieces of the ribs and wait for it to boil – this takes away the blood so that your winter melon soup won’t have blood particles.

After 10-15 minutes of cooking the winter melon, add in the cooked ribs and cook another 15-20 minutes. When serving, splash a little sesame oil in the soup.

One thought on “Baby Back Ribs in Winter Melon Soup

Leave a Reply

