Ginger & Scallion Dungeness Crab

Today is Chinese New Year Eve and to celebrate it, I bought a live Dungeness Crab. I was so excited to eat it. I didn’t know which way I wanted to cook it, steam or stir fry it with ginger, scallions, and a sweet peppery sauce. I chose the latter.

[100% wild]

For the Sauce

  • 4 TBS oyster sauce
  • Dashes of white pepper powder
  • 2 TBS sesame oil
  • 1 TBS brown sugar
  • ¼ cup water
  • 1 TBS corn starch
  • 1 TBS sake

Mix the sauce ingredients and put aside.

For the Crab

  • 1 Dungeness crab (mine was 2.3 lbs)
  • 6 slices of ginger, skin removed
  • 4 scallions, cut into thirds
  • Canola oil for stir fry

Brush and thoroughly clean the outside of the crab, shell, and around the legs. Then kill it. Remove the shell and clean it. I don’t know how to describe it because I don’t really know crab anatomy but I removed that center piece inside the shell, the “gills/lungs”, other mandible flaps at the front of the crab, and the butt flap. Then cut the crab into 4 pieces with the legs still attached.

Heat a wok with canola oil on high. First sauté the ginger and scallions until fragrant. Then stir fry the crab and the sauce together. If too thick, then add water. Cook for 10 minutes or until done. To serve, re-assemble the crab and put the shell on top.

*Note: Save the unfinished sauce for later. I always use it as my noodle sauce or I spread it over rice. It’s so delish.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE eating the shell of any crab. The yellow, orange, and cream colored stuff is SO DELICIOUS!

Leave a Reply

