Tomato Basil Salmon en Papillote

When I was at Sur La Table yesterday, I was flipping through a recipe book and instead of using foil packets, the recipe used parchment paper packets; same thing. This dish is basically the same idea as my Shark Loin in Foil Packets, one of the first 6 entries of this blog.

The best thing about this is that there’s no clean up! Well, almost none.

I like how it looks when it's not cooked

[100% organic & wild salmon]

  • Salmon fillet
  • Salt & pepper
  • 2 TBS butter
  • Handful baby spinach leaves
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • ¼ cup basil, chopped
  • 1 medium shallot, chopped
  • Olive oil
  • Juice of half a lemon
Uncooked

Preheat oven to 450ºF. Get a large sheet of parchment paper (A3 paper size) and place the spinach leaves on the bottom. Place the salmon fillet over the spinach and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place the butter on top of the salmon.

Mix the tomatoes, basil, and shallots together with some olive oil and the lemon juice. Scoop the tomato mixture on top of the salmon with some juices. Wrap the parchment paper like in the picture, or any other way you find possible.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, salmon should be very, very, very juicy and tender – not dry at all.

*Thank you Patricia for the French name change.

2 thoughts on “Tomato Basil Salmon en Papillote

  1. Patricia Carpenter

    I love cooking in parchment! It can be so healthy and flavorful if you do it right. This recipe is similar to something I’ve made with trout. The difference is I didn’t use spinach, and I added jumbo lump crab meat. I think I’ll try yours out in the near future, it sounds very yummy!
    As far as cooking in foil packages, I try to avoid using tomatoes. They react with with the foil and result in a funny tin foil taste. Parchment is a perfect alternative 🙂 As always thanks for the post and the new ideas!

  2. Ron

    Yes, since 2008, I’ve been trying to avoid foil as much as possible because when salt is present, the foil reacts with the salt under the high temperatures and the food absorbs the foil/aluminum. I only use foil when I’m baking the chicken legs for the oil to drip onto the pan. I never use foil anymore to wrap food.

Leave a Reply

