Stuffed Peppers with Israeli Couscous

I was going to host a pot-luck party in October but with everyone’s different schedules, the party kept on being pushed back and back until I got tired of changing the date so I canceled it. Then at the beginning of this month, two of my friends asked for me to cook because one of them never tried anything that I’ve made so I decided to have a little dinner party to celebrate them finishing their finals for this semester. It was going to be a vegetarian night because both of them are Hindu.

It was supposed to be on December 13 but it was rescheduled, AGAIN. It’s like the world is telling me not to cook. Then one of my friends got sick so I just abandoned everything! It’s good that I didn’t go buy most of the ingredients or else I would have had a vegetarian week and would have been very snappy at everyone.

This kind of couscous reminds me of sago. They taste almost the same. I love it! I think I’m eating pearls, if pearls were edible.

This is going on my favorites too! I should start making a tag for that.

[100% organic]

  • 4 TBS olive oil
  • 1 cup Israeli couscous
  • Large bell peppers, top cut off and diced, membrane removed
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 medium carrots, diced
  • 1 yellow squash, diced
  • 1 green zucchini, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 small Idaho potatoes, diced
  • 5 shiitake mushrooms, diced
  • Fresh rosemary
  • Sea salt & freshly ground pepper
  • ½ cup grated Parmesan cheese

In a large pot, heat 2 TBS of olive oil over medium-high heat. Add couscous and stir until lightly toasted, about 3 minutes. Add 2 cups of water and cover. Once water boils, turn heat to low and cook until completely dissolved. Scoop couscous into a large bowl and set aside.

Rinse the same pot and add about 2 inches of water. Place whole peppers in pot, cover and steam for about 5 minutes.

In a large skillet, heat remaining olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic, and sauté for about 10 seconds. Add remaining vegetables and sauté until soft, use salt and pepper to taste. Add vegetables and cheese to couscous. Fill the drained peppers with the couscous mixture and bake in a preheated 350°F oven for about 15 minutes. Serve immediately.

*Adapted from Charlestown Culinary.

Note to self: Next time I will not steam the bell peppers. Steaming caused the color to fade and the skin of the peppers to wrinkle and crack.

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Peppers with Israeli Couscous

  1. Patricia Carpenter

    These sound yummy! I worked at a hotel where we made isralie couscous with dried fruit and cashews to go with roasted duck and grilled baby bok choy. Just a little inspiration for the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

