Jumbo Shrimp & Broccolini Parmesan Risotto

I was going to make an exact replica of the terrible risotto that I had yesterday at work but my asparagus was no longer fresh so I threw it away and Whole Foods is closed today for Christmas. By the way, Merry Xmas!

I didn’t do a very good job at stocking my fridge for the end of the last long holiday season… I will need to do that once stores reopen tomorrow but probably on Sunday.

The stupid risotto that I had at Nordstrom was $16.18 This meal cost me a total of $10.23, including tax on the non-produce!! Even though my meal is only $6 cheaper, it’s SO MUCH MORE!!!! And THIS IS JUMBO SHRIMP!!!!

[100% organic & wild Gulf shrimp]

  • 1½ cups chicken broth
  • One 8 oz. bottle clam juice
  • 2 TBS unsalted butter
  • 2 TBS basil oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, diced
  • ½ cup Arborio rice
  • ½ lb shrimp
  • Half bunch of broccolini, cut into 4 sections
  • 2 TBS freshly shredded parmesan cheese

Risotto instructions here.

Bake the shrimp for 10-15 minutes on 450ºF. Add the broccolini to the risotto once the rice is almost al dente. Once risotto is ready, turn off heat and add the Parmesan and mix.

Leave a Reply

