Hot Pot

火锅

Chinese people like to eat this during the winter because it keeps you warm, being around a boiling pot. It was cold today in Austin and I had fun using the fondue pot yesterday so I had hot pot for lunch.

Just like fondue, you can put anything into the pot. Traditionally, hot pot include thinly sliced meats (pork, beef, lamb), leafy vegetables, tofu, mushrooms, rice vermicelli, and seafood.

It’s usually eaten with a bunch of different sauces but I’m just one person and I’m weird; I don’t like sauces.

Ingredients I Used:

  • Rice vermicelli/fenci
  • Napa cabbage
  • Soft tofu
  • Enoki mushrooms
  • Shiitake mushrooms
  • Fish balls
  • Fish balls with shrimp caviar
  • Sliced lamb
  • Shrimp

4 thoughts on “Hot Pot

  1. Patricia Carpenter

    Love the picture for this dish! For somereason I thought Hot Pots had rice in them, not vermicelli noodles. That might just be an 888 thing, or is it a Vietnamese thing? Either way, your presentation and ingredients look delicious!

  2. Yum! Those are my favorite items to use for hot pot too. I love to include scallops and tiger shrimp if their fresh and available. Do you use a soup base or water?

Leave a Reply

