Boiled Dumplings

You know those foods that you never liked as a child, and then refused to eat them as you grow up, and then one day you eat them cooked differently, and you’re like “wow, I’ve missed out so much!” Well dill is one of them. I’ve always hated them whenever my mom cooked with them but last winter break, my mom added them into the dumpling filling and she insisted that I try it. I did and it was really good.

Cilantro is another one of those missed out foods. In Chinese, dill (茴香) and cilantro (香菜) both share one character and it means fragrant/scented/spiced. I can smell those two herbs miles away!! I used to runaway from that smell at home because I didn’t like it.

However, there is still one more vegetable that I still refuse to eat: bitter melon/bitter gourd/balsam pear. It is so bitter and I hate it! You can never get the taste out of your mouth! UGH!

猪肉茴香白菜饺子

[100% organic]

  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 3 bunches dill
  • 3 scallions
  • 1-inch ginger
  • ½ lb Napa cabbage
  • sesame oil
  • soy sauce
  • salt

2 thoughts on “Boiled Dumplings

  1. gavinosays

    never had dill, but i’ve always loved cilantro.

    and yes, i HATE the taste of bitter melon, too. my mom and grandpa love it. so yucky.

Leave a Reply

