Cornish Game Hen with Pomegranate Glaze

I haven’t cooked with game hens since sophomore year of college! Like I said earlier, I don’t like turkey and it’ll just be me by myself for Thanksgiving. All of my friends went home and I’m not visiting family this year. I don’t mind! I’ve been looking forward to it all month.

[100% organic]

  • 1 cornish game hen
  • ½ cup POM 100% pomegranate juice
  • 2 TBS honey
  • 4-6 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tsp ginger
  • 2 scallions, chopped
  • 2 tsp canola oil

Heat small saucepan over medium heat, then add vegetable oil. When oil is hot, add garlic and ginger and sauté briefly until fragrant, stirring with a wooden spoon. Add green onions and stir until softened. Add ½ cup POM 100% pomegranate juice and reduce heat to low. Add honey and stir until incorporated into glaze. Keep glaze warm.

Preheat oven to 400ºF. Pat dry and tie the hen and dry-roast for 15 minutes. Baste skin of hen with glaze and bake for 15 more minutes. Repeat every 15 minutes until 1 hour total cooking time. Internal temperature near the thigh should be 180ºF. Serve with rice or mashed potatoes.

*Adpated from Foto Cusine.

Leave a Reply

