Thai Red Curry with Seafood

I don’t like curry at all. I don’t eat Indian food and when I do eat Thai food, I avoid the curry. But since I told myself that I should give certain foods that I don’t like another chance, I decided to make Thai red curry tonight for dinner.

The smell is definitely very aromatic – I can smell coconut and basil very strongly and I guess that “other” smell is the curry scent.

[100% organic, wild mussels caught live in U.S.A., environmentally responsible aquaculture farmed shrimp]

Ingredients:

  • 2 TBS Thai red curry paste
  • One 14 oz. can lite coconut milk
  • 3 TBS hoisin sauce
  • ¼ cup low-sodium chicken stock
  • 2 TBS brown sugar
  • 1 small red bell pepper, cut into bite-sized chunks
  • 1 small zucchini, cut into bite-sized chunks
  • ½ lb shrimp
  • ½ lb mussels
  • ¼ cup chopped fresh Thai basil

Instructions:

  1. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine curry paste and coconut milk, continuously whisking, for about 5 minutes
  2. Add hoisin sauce, stock, and brown sugar, until thoroughly mixed
  3. Add the basil with the veggies and simmer over medium heat for about 10 minutes
  4. Add the seafood and simmer until just heated through
  5. Serve over rice

*Adapted from Whole Foods Market.

Leave a Reply

