Sushi, Nigiri, and Sashimi

I love sushi and ever since I started making it at home, I can’t stop – since 2001.

dscn1464blog

[100% organic, wild & environmentally responsible aquaculture farmed shrimp]

I did however make nigiri and sashimi for the first time yesterday. My cutting skills on raw fish (wild sockeye salmon) is abysmal. I should just stick to making rolls.

I can’t really write down instructions on how to make sushi… for the rice, I put 1 TB of rice vinegar, ¼ tsp brown sugar, and a pinch of salt for every 1 cup of rice. The fillings: avocado, salmon, shrimp, krab, cucumber, and pork floss (Chinese ingredient).

For the soup, I mixed miso paste and dried kelp (海带). My favorite Japanese tea is 日本大麦茶 (roasted barley tea).

Japanese food has a lot of good and healthy ingredients (seaweed, kelp, barley tea, etc…)

Note: consuming raw or undercooked animal foods may increase your risk of contracting a food borne illness.

Leave a Reply

