Frozen Tiramisu

The recipe from Whole Foods Market isn’t very good because I always have to put it in the freezer for it to firm up. When I take it out of the freezer, I let it thaw out for 1-2 minutes and then eat it. I think it’s a good change to eat it as a frozen cake-like dessert.

[100% organic]

Ingredients

  • 3 large eggs, separated
  • ¾ cup sugar, separated into ¼ + ½ cups
  • Pinch of salt
  • 8 oz. Mozzarella fresca mascarpone
  • ½ cup chilled heavy cream
  • 6 tsp Medaglia Doro in 2 cups of water
  • 1 packet (20 cookies) ladyfinger cookies (such as 365 Everyday Value brand)
  • 2 TBS cocoa powder
  • ⅓ cup Marsala or sweet red wine

Instructions

Beat together yolks and ½ cup sugar in large bowl with electric mixer until thick and pale. Beat in mascarpone until combined. Beat whites with a pinch of salt in another bowl until they just hold soft peaks. Add remaining ¼ cup of sugar, beating, until they hold stiff peaks. Beat cream in another bowl until they hold soft peaks. Fold cream into mascarpone then fold in whites.

Stir together coffee and Marsala in a shallow bowl. Dip ladyfingers in coffee mixture, and put into a baking dish/pan. Spread half of mascarpone mixture over ladyfingers. Repeat to get two layers. Chill, covered, for at least 6 hours.

Just before serving, sprinkle with cocoa powder

*Adapted from 365 Whole Foods Market recipe.

Note: consuming raw or undercooked animal foods may increase your risk of contracting a food borne illness.

3 thoughts on “Frozen Tiramisu

  1. andiedandie

    Ron, you should open your own restaurant one day… this looks incredible!!! All of the photos look like they’re straight out of cookbooks 🙂

  2. Where did you learn to cook-looks like you went to cooking school! I know chefs and Koreans, in general, make food so decorative and pretty on the plate.

    Is the frozen tiramisu like a cheese cake or something?

    Did you ever learn to cook Korean food and do you like it?

  3. My parents cook really well so I learned from them. But the stuff currently on my blog is all from me except for the pork tenderloin with potatoes (because that’s such a Chinese dish and at home, we have it once every couple of weeks).

    Well, the tiramisu doesn’t have cheese in it but it’s kind of like that idea.

    Actually, this summer, I started to like Korean food. I used to hate spicy food because I didn’t eat it and I would complain but I kept on introducing peppers to my food. When I went to Banff in May, I had this really delicious seafood tofu mix in a Korean restaurant and that got me hooked. 🙂

Leave a Reply

